11 NEPL Players in Northumberland Squad of 13

8 months ago By Gordon Halliday

Sunday 6 May

Northumberland CCC start their Minor Counties season on Sunday 6 May at Jesmond with two T20 matches against Lincolnshire at Jesmond. The first match starts at 11.00am with the second following at around 14.45. The other two teams in Northumberland's group are Cumberland and Staffordshire. This is a new coloured clothing, white ball competition and is part of the ECB's attempts to increase player and spectator interest in cricket.

Northumberland have a new skipper this season with Tom Cant, Captain of Tynedale, leading the County for the first time and new professional, Phil Mustard, will keep wicket and open the batting in Sunday's opener.

Sunday's squad is also bolstered by the return to Minor Counties cricket of the South North duo, Adam Cragg and Johnny Wightman and Jarvis Clay of Hetton Lyons, whilst former Durham Academy players James Thompson and Ben Whitehead are also in the squad, joining regulars including Ollie McGee and Sean Tindale.

The full squad is Tom Cant (Tynedale) (captain), Alasdair Appleby (Barnard Castle), Calum Appleby (Sacriston) ,Mattew Brown (Tynemouth), Jarvis Clay (Hetton Lyons), Adam Cragg (South Northumberland), Ollie McGee (Newcastle), Phil Mustard (Felling) (wicketkeeper), Alex Simpson (Newcastle), James Thompson (Sacriston ), Sean Tindale (South Northumberland), Ben Whitehead (Hetton Lyons), Jonny Wightman (South Northumberland).

Where next?

Banks Bowl Cup action Today is the second round of the NEPL Banks Bowl Cup, which is the start of the a busy Bank Holiday weekend of Banks action.
Special General Meeting Update The result of the Special General Meeting motion is 19 in favour and 4 against.

North East Premier Cricket League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.