South Northumberland 1XI T20 Winners

11 months ago By Sam Blacklock

South Northumberland were crowned North East Premier League T20 Winners today with a comprehensive victory over Burnopfield. We preview the full day.

In the first Semi Final of the day, Felling took on hosts South Northumberland. After skipper Adam Cragg won the toss he elected to bat. The Bulls posting 141/6 from 20 overs with John Graham (36), Callum MacLeod (27) and Simon Birtwisle (26) all contributing, despite Felling dismissing Rob Peyton for 0 early in the game. Stuart Walker was the pick of the bowlers for the High Hewarth side bagging 3/37 fom 4 overs while Turner, Stephenson and Tilley all struck once. Stuart Walker (28) got things underway for Felling but 3 wickets from Stephen Humble bagging 3/11 in four overs got the ball rolling for South Northumberland. Joe Carroll added 29 for Felling but fell short finishing with 122/9 from 20 overs. Birtwisle and Crozier both added 2 wickets each.

Division 1 side Burnopfield edged home by 3 wickets to Chester le Street in the Second Semi Final of the day. (Full summary to be added when scorecard is published)

In the final, South Northumberland came up against Burnopfield. South Northumberland batted first after winning the toss. Simon Birtwisle fell for 28 going LBW with Rob Peyton falling to Neil Killeen. But an 103 run partnership between Callum MacLeod (88) from 47 balls and 26 from John Graham led the Bulls to 177/2 from 20 overs. John Oswell was in fine form against Chester le Street in the Semi Final but he fell for 0 as Burnopfield were 0-1. Niel Killeen (29) and Lee Whitfield (24) were the only two batsman to get getting going at the top of the order as Burnopfield were bowled out for 98 in 15.4 overs. Simon Birtwisle was the pick of the bowlers with 5/25 from 4 overs with Humble and Crozier both picking up 2 apiece.

Congratulations to all teams for reaching Finals Day but Well Done to South North for winning. Thanks to all three umpires and scorers for today.

Where next?

Good Luck to South Northumberland in the NatWest T20 Following South Northumberland's victory over Burnopfield in the North East Premier League T20 Finals Day held earlier this month the Bulls now qualify for the NatWest T20 Area Finals Day.
1XI NEPL T20 Finals Day Arrangments Please see an update regarding parking at South Northumberland for spectators.

North East Premier Cricket League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.