Washington 2XI T20 Cup Winners

10 months ago By Sam Blacklock

Congratulations to Washington Cricket Club who were crowned North East Premier League 2XI T20 Cup Winners on Sunday.

This year's 2XI T20 Finals Day was played at Eppleton Cricket Club with Sacriston, Washington, Newcaslte and Eppleton all competing for the trophy.

In the opening game Eppleton went down by 9 wickets to Sacriston. Eppleton lost the toss and were inserted posting just 99 from 20 overs with Sacriston chasing the Hetton sides total down with 9 wickets in hand.

Washington progressed into the Final with a 8 wicket victory over Newcastle. Newcastle won the toss and batted posting 112/9 from 20 overs. The Harraton club then made little work of chasing the total down knocking Newcastle's total off in 17 overs.

In the Final Washington were victorious by 5 wickets. Having won the toss they inserted Sacriston who posted 124/4 from 20 overs. Mark Fort leading the way with an unbeaten 50 from 42 balls backed by 24 from Daniel Stephenson and 20 from Andrew Dixon. Andrew Wilkie, Tom Sproates and Niall Cutter all bagged one apiece for Washington. Sacriston started well with the ball to dismiss Tom Sproates for 15 shortly followed Gabriel Hebron going for 0. Useful contributions from Jason Jones (25), Matthew Corner (24) and Simon Avis (23) saw Washington home in 18.5 overs.

Well Done to all for a great day!

Where next?

South Northumberland into ECB Finals Day Congratulations to South Northumberland who have reached the ECB Club T20 Finals Day after victory yesterday.
Nat West T20 Regional Final South North take on Sandiacre Town today at Gosforth, full details below.

North East Premier Cricket League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.